Complete Moto2 and Moto3 results

The action of the Australian GP began with the 23-lap Moto3 race in which Izan Guevara was able to seal the 2022 world championship.

Regardless of where his rivals ended up, a top two finish would have done the job for the Gas Gas rider, however he made a shaky start to the race, dropping all the way down to seventh on a frantic opening lap.

However, he was quickly able to pull back through what was initially a leading group of seven bikes as he tried to get close enough to teammate and race leader Sergio Garcia to secure the title.

On lap nine the leading group was reduced to five, local hero Joel Kelso turned back while Guevara was leading for the first time after working on Garcia, Ayumu Sasaki, Deniz Oncu and Diogo Moreira.

The latter would also quickly move away from the leading group, leaving Guevara, Sasaki, Garcia and Oncu to stage an exciting battle for the duration of the race.

The title image continued to change as the top four pushed for position, each leading at some point as both the race and the championship went to the mat.

In the end it was a quick final lap that made the difference, with Guevara straying far enough from the pack to win both races and become world champion.

Oncu finished the race second ahead of Garcia and Sasaki.

Stefano Nepa finished fifth as the battle for sixth place between John McPhee and Kelso dwindled to a draw and the photo finish. McPhee was eventually ranked in the position, Kelso forced to settle for career-best seventh at home.

Moreira dropped to eighth place while Dennis Foggia, who finished second in the points, was never on the hunt as he fought up to ninth place ahead of Riccardo Rossi.

Complete report of the Moto3 race

The 25-lap Moto2 race saw a dominant display from Alonso Lopez.

The driver from Boscoscuro entered the race with a penalty on the long lap thanks to the clash of Free Practice 1 with Celestino Vietta.

Starting from outside the front row, Lopez sprinted in the opening laps, overtaking Fermin Aldeguer, Tony Arbolino and Augusto Fernandez by more than two seconds.

On lap 4 he managed to serve the penalty on the long lap and still resume with an advantage of over a second.

At that point Aldeguer began to return to the field, leaving Arbolino in second place. This happened until a high speed low side into the Hayshed on lap 7 knocked him over gravel and out of the race.

This left Red Bull KTM teammates Ajo Pedro Acosta and Fernandez fighting for second place without real pressure from behind.

With main title rival Ai Ogura bogged down again out of the Top 10 and battling for pace, it looked like Fernandez would step onto the podium and increase his points lead.

That was until Fernandez dropped the front of his KTM at the Southern Loop on lap 16 and slipped out of the race.

This left Jake Dixon, who started in 14th place sitting third, while Ogura went from facing a significant points deficit in Fernandez’s favor to lead the championship.

Augusto Fernandez, Red Bull KTM Ajo

Photo by: Gold and Goose / Motorsport Images

Lopez didn’t stop up front, skilfully managing the gap from Acosta as he ran the remaining laps.

His final margin of victory was 3.5 seconds, while Dixon finished a lone third with another 6 seconds down the road.

Aldeguer reacted to finish fourth in a close battle with Manuel Gonzalez and Jeremy Alcoba. Cameron Beaubier led that group for much of the race but dropped to seventh at the finish.

Somkiat Chantra and title outsider Aaron Canet finished eighth and ninth while Bo Bendsneyder completed the Top 10.

Ogura worked his way up to 11th, which means he has a 3.5-point lead in the series over Fernandez in the final two rounds of the season.

Complete result of the Moto2 race

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *